Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Book Review: Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception

Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception
Maggie Stiefvater
Young Adult Fantasy

Deirdre is an ordinary girl with extraodinary talents, or at least that's what everyone tells her. She plays the harp and sings, but she has never felt comfortable being on stage or the center of attention. That is until she meets Luke Dillion, her dream guy - literally.

Luke appears the night of her school music competition and holds her hair while she pukes (as she does each time before she goes on stage). Deirdre is immediately entranced. Something about him is inherently dangerous, but her attraction to him is so strong that her better judgement is quickly overcome. It isn't too long before she realizes that not only is he different, but she is as well. Suddenly she is no longer Deirdre - above average 16 year old girl, but rather Deirdre - some sort of supernatural being.

Suddenly Deirdre finds herself in the middle of a faerie uprising fueled by the faerie queen's anger. Will she survive? What secrets are Luke keeping from her that may change all of her feelings for him?

Deirdre is not only worried about her own life but also the life of everyone who is near her; mother, father, aunt, grandmother, and her best friend (the possibly psychic) James.

If you like this story by Maggie Stiefvator, check out her other books, Ballad (the sequel to Lament), and her latest, Shiver. The third book in Deirdre's saga, Linger, will be coming out this July!

Author Read-alikes: Melissa Marr, Janni Lee Simner, and Laini Taylor

No comments: