Sunday, January 31, 2010

Book Review: Mariah Mundi and the Midas Box

Mariah Mundi and the Midas Box
G.P. Taylor
Young Adult Fantasy

Mariah is venturing out from the home he has known for the last seven years, the Chiswick Colonial Home for boys. His parents have been dead for two years and he doesn't have a relative in the world. We meet Mariah while he is on his way to his first job out of school, at the Prince Regent Hotel which is entirely run by steam!

The first person he meets there is Sacha, a young lady near his age who also working for the magician Bizmillah. She wastes no time telling Mariah about the mysterious disappearances of the other boys who have come from his school to work there, as well as the sea monster known as the Kraken. Before long Mariah is caught up in a rescue mission that threatens his own life, after he learns the secrets of the Prince Regent and its supposed owner Otto Luger.

Can Mariah save his new friends in time and find the missing boys? A definite adventure with unique twists and turns!!

Author Read-alikes: Joseph Delaney, Anthony Horowitz, Brandon Mull

No comments: