Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Book Review: Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Darkside!

Jessica's Guide to dating on the Darkside
By Beth Fantaskey
Young Adult Fantasy

Jessica is your typical teenager who lives in the rural Midwest and this year is her senior year. Nothing can ruin your senior year, you are on top of the world, right? Unless you find out that you are really a vampire princess who has an arranged marriage with a vampire prince. Yep, that can really put a dent in the senior year bliss.

At first Jessica can't understand who the "foreign exchange student" really is until he appears at her house later that day for dinner. And her previously sane parents start explaining to her that she is really Anastasia, a Romanian vampire princess. Jessica is stunned and in complete disbelief and can't stand her so called betrothed, Lucius. She wants to enjoy her senior year like a regular teenager and date her hunky neighbor, Jake. Apparently fate has something else in store for her.

This book has a slow burning romance and the reader really falls in love with the characters as they fall in love for each other. It is even complete with a prepubescent guide to becoming a vampire. If you are a fan of Twilight, this is the book you have been looking for.

Author Read-alikes: Cynthia Leitich Smith, Stephanie Meyer, Alyson Noel

No comments: