Sunday, May 17, 2009

House of Many Ways

Charmain is a respectable girl who adores books. She is never allowed to do anything that is not considered respectable by her parents and her life can be rather boring. However everything is about to change and it will all seem like a story out of one of her books.

Title: House of Many Ways
Author: Diana Wynne Jones
ISBN:978-0061477959
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Great Uncle William (also known as the Royal Wizard of Norland) is sick and Charmain is chosen to look after his magical house. She has never taken care of anything (not even herself) in her life and suddenly she is left in charge of a very challenging magical house. This sudden change allows her to summon up the courage to write to the king and offer her services for the royal library. Charmain finds herself keeper of a magical house and Assistant Librarian to the king in a matter of days. Just when she begins to get the hang of it, Peter, a would be apprentice, shows up and makes her clean the dishes and do the washing!! Peter and Charmain soon find that they are in the middle of a magical world that is coming apart and they must do something to stop it!!

This is a sequel to Howl's Moving Castle so it features Sophie, Wizard Howl and a small surprise. I loved this book, couldn't read it fast enough!! It definately continues the story of Sophie and Howl but that is the secondary story as it mainly focuses on Charmain and her discoveries. In general this book is exactly what fans of Diana Wynne Jones have come to expect, a magical tale full of mystery and self discovery.

Author Read-alikes: Diane Duane, Garth Nix, J.K. Rowling,

No comments: