Saturday, April 18, 2009

Book Review - Faery Apocalypse!!


The fey folk are a strange breed, often possessing uncanny abilities but that is a thing of the past for the faeries of Dreamdark. Their magic is running out and little do they know but Armageddon is nearly upon them. Their world is crumbling and their only hope lies with a faery lass named Magpie Windwitch

Title: Faeries of Dreamdark Blackbringer
Author: Laini Taylor
ISBN: 9780399246302
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy


Magpie Windwitch is the granddaughter of the West Wind and she possesses more magical power than she knows what to do with. She travels the world trying to rid it of demons and she has seen more than her share of trouble. Magpie travels with a merry band of theatrical crows that help her fight battles. When she decides to go home to Dreamdark the crows of course come with her and end up helping her fight what could be their last battle. In order to save her kind and the rest of the world (including “Mannies” or humans) Magpie must find the elusive Dijnn King and convince him that her world is worth saving.

I really loved this book, it had everything I wanted; action, magic and a heart wrenching tale that makes you root for the good guys to win. The world of Dreamdark is vast and complex; it is a world where faeries coexist with humans, demons, and the djinn that created them all. The author really does a fantastic job a creating this unique world that could live in our world without our knowledge of it. It is reminiscent of Harry Potter and I hope that there are more to come in this series.

Author Read-alikes: Cornelia Funke, Brandon Mull, J.K. Rowling

No comments: